Posted on

‘Yo Gabba Gabba’ is Scarier Than ‘The Exorcist’

"Why won't they shut up down there? I hope they are ready for some screaming."

The other night as I was quietly sitting on the couch, watching TV and enjoying a beer, it dawned on me that this is one of the last times I will enjoy such peace.

All of a sudden it hit me like a ton of bricks that in a week or two it’s going to be a long time before I can just sorta do my own thing as I please. I have no doubt that I can adjust, but it was like that feeling you get when you know you have to go to the dentist the next day. You try not thinking about it, but then you just accept the fact that tomorrow is going to come whether you like it or not and you are just going to have to deal with it.

Sure, we will have our own time when Ava is put to bed and everything, but it won’t be the same as now. Right now we can do whatever we want at night or during the day. Frasier is fine on his own for up to 8 hours or so, so that’s more than enough time for Michelle and I to go where we please. When Ava comes, even when she is put to bed or sleeping, we are still going to decide on what we do and how we do it based on how it may affect her. Can we do that? Won’t it wake her? We will talk quieter. We will lower the TV’s volume. We will yell at Frasier for playing with a squeaky toy.

I am very excited though of the thought of holding her in my arms as I watch the Bucco games this summer and then the Steelers and Pens this fall and winter (Michelle rolls her eyes here while reading). It’s a new experience I am very much looking forward to. There are some great pics of my family holding me as a child, everyone decked out in black & gold, watching whatever game was on. I have no problem trading a Terrible Towel for Ava. I just have to remember I can’t throw her at the TV when there is a blown call.

What I fear most though. The thing that I am not looking forward at all are the stupid, kinda creepy, kid shows. Michelle and I were shopping at some kids store last weekend and they had playing on a TV the show ‘Yo Gabba Gabba’ (which to me sounds like a tribute band to The Ramones). I watched it for a few minutes and couldn’t believe what I was watching. Some weird-looking monsters and Jack Black (dressed in a furry suit) running through green foam meadows singing about friendship. Now I can respect the message they were trying to send, but the way they presented it would give me nightmares if I was a kid, hell I was a bit uneasy that night thinking about it.

I hope the parents reading this agree with me when I say the idea of watching those shows on a regular basis feels like torture to me. Then I thought about it some more and realized my parents had to watch shows like that with me. I kinda feel a little guilty about that.

I told Michelle that I would rather have Ava watch documentary shows on Animal Planet, or the National Geographic Channel, or the Discovery Channel. These kid shows seem to put more effort into keeping the kid’s attention with flashy colors and odd-looking characters than actual decent content. Can you image watching these things on LSD? I think animal shows and documentaries would be better because they show cool looking places and animals thar are actually REAL and give good information about the world and its people. I can’t tell you how much I learned growing up watching nature documentaries, then would cover the same topics in school and already know the info. However, I can’t deny the awesomeness of Sesame Street and Mr. Rogers, but kids shows aren’t like that anymore.

If Ava wants to watch some big furry creatures stumbling around looking ridiculously happy and singing about stranger danger, Frasier and I can put on a hell of a show.

About mikevi29

I was just a guy, now I am going to be a dad. *gulp*

2 responses to “‘Yo Gabba Gabba’ is Scarier Than ‘The Exorcist’

  1. Melissa ⋅

    HAHA Yo Gabba Gabba is great! I’ll be waiting for the day you enjoy that show. Jeff has most of them memorized and Maddies party this year is Yo Gabba Gabba theme!

  2. Mom (Nana) ⋅

    Ugh… those shows!! I agree most of them I can not stand! The little boy I watch (Mason) who is 4 loves this crazy little talking sponge that makes me sick with his burping and farting. Please guys don’t make Ava watch that “Sponge Bob” character. What does it tell you to sponge off your parents for the rest of your life or what?? And another one I can’t stand is “Dora Dora”.. this is America and they are incouraging our little ones to right away speak Spanish of coarse.. Why don’t Dora speak “English”!!! But what happened to the regular family shows that teaches your child values in life? Your right Mike about watching the documentaries.. I can remember you Mike at a very young age would watch “Lassie” and you always cried when Lassie would lift his little paw at the end of the song… now that was a great show!! Do justice to Ava and put on the DVD ‘s of baby Einstine shows and songs on your TV, they are wonderful and teach a very young child songs, sights and wonders! My Olivia watched them regularly and started talking at a very young age watching them, listening to the little birds chirp, farm animal sounds, counting and letters that a young baby would start to recognize. Those DVDs are great early learning tools.

Leave a Reply

