Posted on

Belly Up

What is round in shape, hard, and throbs?  The answer is Michelle’s stomach of course. What were you thinking of sicko?

When my sisters were pregnant, I never touched their bellies. I never had that urge. It always seemed to freak me out more than anything. Just let me know where to show up at the hospital when my niece or nephew was born and I’ll be there, until then I will be standing over here not touching your belly.

FYI...not Michelle's belly

I always assumed I would be sorta the same way when Michelle got pregnant, and I was at first. But the first time I felt Ava kick….fuhgetaboudit.  I was hooked. I find myself constantly rubbing and feeling her baby bump, or as I like to call it, Mt. Intercourse.

I am absolutely baffled at how there is a baby in there. How does it  work? I know things I learned throughout my schooling and have read, but it still comes down to a miracle. It really does. How can something be created by two people from just two tiny cells and somehow grow perfectly on its own inside the mother? It blows my mind. It truly is a miracle to watch the process. I know it has reinforced my own beliefs. What a feeling it is to know you helped create a life. That process didn’t just happen by accident. Not to sound preachy or snobbish, but you really can’t understand the feeling until you go through it yourself.

I put my hand on Michelle’s stomach and feel a leg or an arm. It’s addicting. To watch her stomach move and ungulate as Ava shifts is like watching a show. It’s those little things that I really enjoy. It’s a different story for Michelle though. She is not only witnessing the miracle, she is FEELING it. I think it’s cute when I see Ava move her legs, but Michelle might not be as enthused because that shifting I saw means Ava’s foot is now lodged under Michelle’s ribs. Last night Ava was restless, so I had to yell at her for the first time. I stuck my finger on Michelle’s belly and said in my sternest dad voice, “Ava…you settle down and go to bed right now! Your mother and I are trying to watch a movie and lodging your arm against mommy’s lung is not good.”

I have to admit. I will miss seeing Michelle pregnant. She is beautiful pregnant. Just gorgeous. I know it’s a cliché, but there really is just a glow about her. She says that glow is her sweating from the heat, but I say it’s because God has his hand on her as Ava develops. I look at her and think to myself, “That is the mother of my children and I love her more than anything for it.” I love her swollen ankles. I love her stretch marks. I love her waddling. Most of all however, I love her belly.

About mikevi29

I was just a guy, now I am going to be a dad. *gulp*

3 responses to “Belly Up

  1. Michelle ⋅

    Awwww…Thanks hunny~ I love you too.

  2. Mom (Nana) ⋅

    Well my son… you really have turned from a “guy to a dad”.. not only a dad… but a wonderful husband and I can see you are going to be a great father at that!! Ava is one lucky little girl to have such loving parents…

  3. Angie ⋅

    Mike you are so cute! I love reading your posts! Michelle is lucky to have such a wonderful husband 🙂

Leave a Reply

