Posted on

She’s Here, Now What?

Well, I’m officially a dad. Ava Marie Viola was born July 22nd at 10:11am. She weighed in at 8 pounds, 3 ounces and measured 21.5 inches. She was also born with two wings and a halo…a true angel.

I’m not even sure where to start. I have so many stories I can tell about the entire birthing event, as well as some first time parenting mistakes lessons. I will go over all of that starting tomorrow. Today I just want to give some quick thoughts. As many of you have pointed out to me, I took a week off from the blog in order to fully spend the time with Michelle and Ava. I’m back in the bloging groove now, so make sure to come back every day to read. This is the time where the good posts are really going to happen. If you already haven’t, introduce your friends and family to the blog and get them reading.

Ava (pictured above) is so beautiful. She already has me wrapped around her finger. Being there for her birth and holding her for the first time was such a life altering experience. Michelle did great and is such a fantastic mommy. Ava is lucky to have Michelle as a mother. Our lives are changed, for the good. You look on Facebook and stuff and see old and new parents alike constantly posting pictures of their kids, or bragging about what they did. I used to think these people had a mental disorder and questioned why they thought everyone wanted to look at their slightly off-setting looking child. Do they honestly think people wake up hoping for a new picture of little Johnny laying on the ground with his finger up his nose? What balls these people have littering my News Feed page with pictures of their kids wearing things they will eventually hate their parents for later.

Then around 10:12 on July 22nd I couldn’t help myself. I found myself, without even thinking, snapping as many pictures of Ava as possible and posting them on Facebook. It’s a sickness. Every time she made a new face, mostly due to gas, I thought the world needed to see it damn it! This is important stuff. Look. This time she grinned with her left eye slightly open…HER LEFT EYE EVERYONE!!!! Do you not see how important this is? You NEED to see this. It will impact your life in ways you can’t imagine. Sure, other kids make faces, but this is MY kid. My kid is the better than yours, can’t you see that? You can’t? Well then let me post another pic and make you aware. Dare I say it, my kid is GIFTED!!!!!!!!! I need to call Harvard and tell them to keep a spot open. I’m pretty sure she will be there by the time she is 15.

In all seriousness, I feel so lucky to have the family I have. I was talking with my dad on the phone while in the hospital. After he said good-bye, he told me to go and take care of my family. That was such a cool thing to hear. We are an actual family now. Five years ago I was just graduating college. I had Michelle, but not much else. Now we are a family with a bright future ahead of us. Life is good.

About mikevi29

I was just a guy, now I am going to be a dad. *gulp*

One response to “She’s Here, Now What?

  1. Denise Dunyak ⋅

    Mike, you may not remember me, but I used to date your dad back in the mid to late 90’s… I’ve connected with your mom and Nicole through facebook and your mom just told me about your blog and forwarded it to me. Congratulations on being a family… happy to hear the news… Take care and best wishes with the new arrival.

Leave a Reply

