Posted on

…And Now Back To Your Regularly Scheduled Programming

It’s been about a month since my last post, so let me apologize right now for that. I am sorry. OK? OK. Why such the lapse in writing? Was it laziness? Busy schedule? Forgetfulness? Let’s just call it ‘all of the above’. I promised myself, and essentially Ava, that I would keep this blog for at least the first year of her life. So having this huge hole between posts makes me feel guilty as hell.

However, I am determined to get it going strong again, but with one little caveat. When I started, I tried to post everyday or every other day. Working a full-time job and having multiple other responsibilities makes that almost impossible. What I do promise you is to post at least 2-3 times per week. I know I have a lot of readers and I feel bad that I let you down a bit too because I got tons of positive feedback from everyone who seemed to really enjoy reading my posts. It’s great to get that kind of feedback and know that you don’t completely suck as a writer. So let’s pinky swear on something. I will keep up with my posts if you promise to help and make this blog even more popular. Forward it to friends and family. Share the link on your Facebook page. Mention it to co-workers and so on. I would very much appreciate it.

Now back to the topic of this blog, my beautiful little girl (now about 12 weeks old). A lot has happened in just one month and we will eventually get to it all in detail in future posts. First though, she is growing faster than a crowd at a crash scene. She is also developing unbelievably. She laughs (melts my heart). She has discovered how to use her hands. She can hold her head up. It’s awesome.  She has also had her christening recently. I have a lot of thoughts on that, specifically on my first experience with the cost of children’s events. Oy vey!

I also want to make the point and mention what a great mommy Michelle has turned into in just a few short months. It’s unreal. She is just so good with Ava and cares for her like no one else could. I married Michelle because she is that special kind of person. Loyal. Loving. Giving. Unselfish. I could go on for days, but seeing her care for Ava brings it all to a new level. She really is just wonderful. I love to just watch Michelle hold and play with Ava. I watch them and can’t believe how lucky I am to have them both in my life. I am blessed more than I deserve, an embarrassment of riches. I know all of that sounds corny, but other fathers out there can understand. The simple act of seeing your wife and child bonding, having that love in your house and in your life, puts things in perspective and makes you realize just how good life can be.

Ok, that’s all for now. I need to find some tissues, got myself all verklempt. I have definitely hit my sappy quota for today, but I love my wife and daughter and will never be shy about saying it.

About mikevi29

I was just a guy, now I am going to be a dad. *gulp*

Leave a Reply

