Posted on

A Birthday Poem From Daddy

Ava, my little girl, you’re the glimmer of my eye. The cherry on my sundae, the blue in my sky.

The days come and go, the minutes tick away. Each day you grow and grow, my baby you won’t stay.

And so today you turn two, a concept hard to comprehend. I remember the first time I held you, knowing you were a gift only God could send.

I’m your father and I promise to always be by your side. I’ll be there when you fall and I’ll stay until the tears subside.

I’ll be there to cheer every time you succeed. I’ll hoot and howler and embarrass you, always the loudest parent  indeed.

I’ll teach you to hit  a ball and how to ride a bike. I’ll tuck you in bed and scare the Bogey-man away at night.

I’ll make sure you have memories as fond as fond can be. They’ll be of laughter and love and silliness, oh, and many trips to the sea.

I am your bodyguard, your chef, your teacher too. Anything I do is never too much for you.

For you always won’t be so small, you’re growing bigger each day. I just won’t always be there to keep the bad away.

I can only hope I raise you to be strong, independent and smart. Teach you to do what you love and not be afraid to show a little heart.

It makes me both happy and sad to watch you grow older. To watch you grow stronger. To watch you grow bolder.

As you grow into a young-lady I may seem more and more protective. It’s just when it comes to boys I want you to be very selective.

I promise to always do the best for you, and I will do it gladly.  Because you gave me the best gift of all, you made me into a daddy.

I love you sweetheart.  Happy birthday my little lass.

From,

Daddy

About mikevi29

I was just a guy, now I am going to be a dad. *gulp*

One response to “A Birthday Poem From Daddy

  1. Char ⋅

    Absolutely so beautiful.. can’t stop crying!!

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

